Annual Membership Meeting May 17, 2024

Cord Room Crowne Plaza Lansing West Hotel

Meeting Minutes

Call to Order 9:07am

Alisha Snyder, MFMC President

Roll Call

Sharon Gomulka, Recording Secretary

Sharon Gomulka, Diane Tomiuk, Karla Shotts, Bill Draper, Penny Draper, Anne Frank, Gail Mitchell, Katie Florian, Donna Belzer, Laurie M. Marshall, MaryAnn LaMonte, Judy Phillips, Heidi Hong, Steven Mastrogiacomo, MaryJane Timmer, Arlene Anger, Gordon Brenner, Joanne Holman, Tom Holman, Michele Armstrong, Sandy McNeely, Sara Aylesworth, John W. Merle, Joyce E. Merle, Bea Wassenberg, Jackie Livesay, Barb Palmer, Marcia Nobel, Sue Allen, Tom Nobel, Rebecca Turk, Alisha Snyder

Approval of the Agenda

Alisha Snyder, MFMC President

A motion to approve the agenda was made by Donna Belzer and seconded by MaryAnn LaMonte.

Ceremonial

Pledge of Allegiance
The Star-Spangled Banner

Jackie Livesay, MFMC First Vice President

Bea Wassenberg, MFMC Convention Co-Chair

Steven Mastrogiacomo, MFMC SecondVice-President

The NFMC Collect

"We praise and thank Thee, Father, for the gift of music. Through us, as channels of Thy grace, may this blessed legacy be shared with all mankind. Grand that we may exemplify in our own lives the harmony of Thy great purpose for us. Give us magnitude of soul, and such understanding hearts that we who make music may be as players upon rightly tuned instruments responding to Thy leading. Let us with renewed consecration dedicate ourselves to the purpose of our Federation, to bring the spiritualizing force of music to the inner life of our nation. Open our minds that divine knowledge and wisdom may teach us how best to execute our pledge."

Inspiration

Marcia Nobel, Chaplain

Convention Welcome and Introductions

Alisha Snyder, MFMC President

Annual Membership Meeting May 17, 2024

Cord Room Crowne Plaza Lansing West Hotel

Meeting Minutes

Reading of the Convention Standing Rules

Alisha Snyder

Presentation of Convention Program

Jackie Livesay & Bea Wassenberg

Reading and Approval of 2023 Minutes

Sharon Gomulka, Recording Secretary

Reports of the MFMC Members serving NFMC

Junior Division Chair Laurie M. Marshall

MFMC Representative to NFMC.

An oral report was given concerning NFMC and member participation was given.

NFMC Festival Cup Chair

Mary Jane Timmer

Mary Jane Timmer summarized her report with the following highlights: 16 festivals and 2000

participants.

Nat'l Rep. to Interlochen Center for the Arts

Hazel Lawrence not in attendance

no report concerning NFMC and member participation was given.

NFMC Choral Chair

Penny Draper

A brief overview of the choral programs process was given and members were encouraged to apply for a choral award.

NFMC Festival Dance Chair -

no report given

Justin Gray

Joyce Walsh Junior Disability Award Chair - no report given

Holli Wittman

Junior Dance Awards Chair - no report given

Nicholas Gray

Music for the Blind Composition & Benzinger Awards Chair Patti Dietlin

no report given

Thelma Robinson Ballet Award Chair - no report given

Justin Gray

Region Festival Committee

oral report given

Arlene Anger

Northeast Region Junior Composers Chair - no report given

Michael Zutis

Annual Membership Meeting May 17, 2024

Cord Room Crowne Plaza Lansing West Hotel

Meeting Minutes

Officers

President Alisha Snyder

Alisha thanked Arlene Anger for enabling a smooth transition. She has been busy addressing emails and leading meetings. She also encouraged members to communicate with her as needed.

First Vice President Jackie Livesay- MFMC 25/50 year recipients to be read & distributed after lunch

Second Vice President

Steven Mastrogiacomo

Referred members to Profiles for his report.

Treasurer Thomas Nobel

Thomas provided support to the finance committee. There is a cash balance of \$3000; on budget. Presented brief highlights of the Edward Jones investments;

Assistant Treasurer for Membership

Arlene Anger

Membership report: 14 senior clubs; 746 senior members; individual Jr clubs 171; 4 sponsored jr clubs; 2718 junior members

Past President report:

Arlene Anger

Reiterated the smooth transition with the new president, Alisha Snyder.

Standing Committees

Awards Bea Wassenberg, Chair

Bylaws Laurie M. Marshall, Chair

Presented updates to be voted on in 2025

Communications Kaye Rittinger, Chair

Gayle gave an oral report regarding *Counterpoint*. Convention registration will be sent out via email and will no longer be printed.

Annual Membership Meeting May 17, 2024

Cord Room Crowne Plaza Lansing West Hotel

Meeting Minutes

Convention

Jackie Livesay & Bea Wassenberg, Co-Chairs

Thanked those who helped to make the convention happen. Discussed how to continue and improve hosting the annual convention.

Executive Committee

Alisha Snyder, MFMC President

Festivals

Mary Jane Timmer, Chair

Gave an oral report and process overview. A Sept planning meeting is scheduled.

Finance

The budget was presented to the Board in February. Laurie M. Marshall, Chair

Honorary Advisory Council - no report given

Mary Irvine, Chair; not present

Investment

Laurie Marshall

Laurie stated that details are available to any member.

Leadership Education

Laurie M. Marshall

Leadership webinars were not given. As of May 16, 2024, NFMC approved a new program to be designed and start fall, 2024 and opened to all MFMC members.

Chair Music Activities

Donna Belzer, Chair

"Disappointingly" only five senior clubs submitted reports that can help with club planning. National was informed of the clubs' activities.

Past Presidents' Assembly

Joanne Holman, Chair

Received three reports: Battle Creek, Port Huron, and Jackson.

Reports of Districts and Senior Club Presidents

Northeast District

Kaye Rittinger (abs), President

The Birmingham Musicale Bea Wassenberg, President Owosso Musicale Katie Florian & Donna Belzer,

Co-Presidents The Port Huron Musicale Diane Tomiak, President St. Cecilia Society of FlintJean Weamer,

President The Tuesday Musicale of Greater Pontiac Mary Ann LaMonte, President

Annual Membership Meeting May 17, 2024

Cord Room Crowne Plaza Lansing West Hotel

Meeting Minutes

Northwest District

Mary Jane Timmer, President

Grand Rapids Musicians' League, Mary Jane Timmer, President

Southeast District

Steven Mastrogiacomo, President

Ann Arbor Music Club Sandy Huang, President Camerata Music Society Tomoko Mack, President Royal Oak Musicale Ann Liska, Vice President Vivace Music Club Sara Aylesworth, President

Southwest District

Michele Armstrong, President

Battle Creek Morning Musical Club Daniel Forbes, President Jackson Tuesday Musicale Barb Palmer, President The Lansing Matinee Musicale Tracy Sonneborn, President with member Penny Draper reporting

State/Interstate

Laurie Marshall, President

Lake Michigan Music Club

New Business scheduled for 2:18 pm

Business Meeting resumed at 1:50 PM by Alisha Snyder, President

Unfinished Business: none

Announcements:

1. Readers: Michele Armstrong, Steven Mastrogiacomo, and Mary Jane Timmer

2. Card of encouragement was signed by members and will be mailed to Barb Davis.

Budget 2024-2025

Laurie M. Marshall, MFMC Finance Chair

There was discussion and clarification of administrative leadership expenses. *Various feedback* and discussion by members of the \$6 MFMC dues increase to \$10 per senior member. NFMC dues remain at \$8 per senior member (total of \$18 per club member for MFMC/NFMC membership).

The Budget was approved: Yea 27 /Nay 8

The meeting was adjourned at 3:20 pm.